Nourishing and Flourishing

Cultivating Balance in an Unpredictable Life

Freedom

I’ve always considered myself a bit of a late-bloomer in life. I mean, sure, I came into this world seven days early, reached my adult height at the age of eleven, and managed to pass my driver’s test on the first try, but when it comes to the really important things in life, I always seem to fall a bit behind my peers. Until recently, this is something I resented. For the past nine years, I have managed to consistently bounce from seasons of complete gratitude to ones of great protest about my long, grueling, life journey. Ok, maybe that’s a bit of an over-exaggeration (the long, grueling life journey), but the nine-year stretch is no joke. I worked full-time, on and off, for nine years, putting myself through undergrad. I recently have graduated, married my love, and am waiting to begin graduate school this fall. In the meantime, I’ve been contemplating life and where I go from here. I have always been a dreamer-I have an innate desire to explore and see the world, discovering who I am in this journey of life. I’m all about taking calculated risk and trying new things. I like to have freedom. You can begin to see why I have felt like a caged animal for the past nine years; working full-time while being an almost full-time student isn’t exactly conducive to that of the likes of someone like me. This is, in part, why I feel behind in life. I turn twenty-eight in less than a month and feel so far from any of the life goals I would have liked to have accomplished by now (this is my ungrateful voice speaking). However, in the spirit of resolutions, new goals, (or whatever you call these new pursuits we seem to take on at the beginning of every year), I am CHOOSING to listen to my voice of gratitude. I am choosing to see and recognize that I am no longer in a place where I must protest the course of my life, angry about how “slow” it seems to be crawling along. Instead of panicking because “I’m-nearly-thirty-and-have-nothing-to-show-for-it,” I am going to embrace the fact that “Life-begins-at-twenty-eight.”

I am FINALLY devoting time to keep a blog going (see what I mean? Always behind). I see it as an opportunity for release, growth, sharing, and educating. My intentions are, to me, complex, but in reality, quite simple. I want to write. I want to educate both myself and my readers about all things health and wellness. I want to network and share my journey with others. I hope to find out more about myself and the world that surrounds me, waiting for me to soak it up. I have been craving this moment for nine years. It’s time to embrace it and live. It’s time to feel free and live my life as God designed me to. I’m back, friends. And I’m here to stay.

Love and blessings,

Kim

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

